Aragon round from 2017 available for FREE

Friday, 27 March 2020 11:07 GMT

As part of the #StayAtHome campaign, a full weekend of racing will be made available to watch for free – and this week, it’s Aragon 2017

With MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship backing the #StayAtHome campaign, a full race weekend is being made available to watch for FREE and this weekend we are showing the 2017 Aragon Round on the website. The weekend was the first weekend for the new FIM Supersport 300 World Championship, and you can watch how all the drama unfolded at MotorLand Aragon.

Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) came into the weekend in red-hot form having won the first four races of the season. The fiercest competition came from Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati), but would the British rider be able to end Rea’s 2017 streak? Superpole was close between the pair with 2013 WorldSBK Champion Tom Sykes (now BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) lining up on the front row Race 1; less than two tenths separating the top three on the front row.

WorldSBK Race 1 featured a race-long duel between Davies and Rea that came to an end on the penultimate lap while Sykes was able to claim a podium alongside Marco Melandri – but would it be Davies or Rea who claimed the top step? Race 2 was just as intense as Race 1; the four front-runners were starting in the middle of the pack with Sykes the highest placed started with seventh. Melandri was eighth with Rea and Davies completing the top ten of the grid. Alex Lowes (now Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) started from pole position with Michael van der Mark (PATA Yamaha WorldSBK Official Team) and Jordi Torres (now MIE Racing Althea Honda) completing the front row.

In WorldSSP, there was a last-lap battle between Lucas Mahias (team) and Sheridan Morais with the race decided at the final corner. PJ Jacobsen completed the podium with third place while there was drama throughout the field, including a lap-one incident involving Kenan Sofuoglu and Federico Caricasulo (now team).

The first ever WorldSSP300 race was decided by the finest of margins as Scott Deroue, Daniel Vale and Mika Perez all taking to the podium; the trio crossing the line less than two tenths apart as the new Championship got underway. In total the top four were separated by around one second as Borja Sanchez finished fourth. But this doesn’t tell the whole story of the race as there was drama on the penultimate lap as Robert Schotman, who had been in the lead group, crashed out.

In the STK1000 race, Michael Ruben Rinaldi took a commanding victory as the Italian rider won the race by over three seconds; beating Florian Marino and Roberto Tamburini who both claimed podium places. Toprak Razgatlioglu, now a WorldSBK rider for PATA Yamaha WorldSBK Official Team, fought with Tamburini for the podium but was unable to make up the one place required.

If you would like to watch all the action as if it was a race weekend, you can find the day-by-day schedule below.


WorldSBK – FP1

WorldSBK – FP2

WorldSSP – FP2


WorldSBK – Superpole 1

WorldSBK – Superpole 2

WorldSSP300 – Superpole 1

WorldSSP300 – Superpole 2

WorldSBK – Race 1

WorldSSP – Superpole 1

WorldSSP – Superpole 2


WorldSSP – Race

WorldSBK – Race 2

WorldSSP300 – Race

STK1000 – Race

You can watch more World Superbike action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!